Getting Back into the Groove of things

Hello, yes I know I have been MIA, but a week of vacation sometimes does that to you, lol. I was finding getting back into the groove of things after returning from the cottage so hard. We had such an amazing, relaxing, family fun time. I did a post on packing for the cottage which you can find here. My mind was always thinking about the beach and our amazing fires at night the few first days back at home.

I was really good with getting things done the Saturday we returned. Hubby and Tyler (my 12yr old son) unloaded the car and I got to the piles of laundry sorted, a load in, washed the dog, & unpacking the rest of things. By Saturday evening I was done all my chores and unpacked. The only thing that went on for a few days was laundry, one week no laundry for a family of six was insane. I am so glad I did my to do lists before leaving to the cottage so that the house chores & cleaning were done and we returned to a clean house. The only thing that needed to be done was vacuuming and mopping the floors, as unloading the car, unpacking left some sand in places and shoes not being take off left dirt on the floors.

The Monday I planned on working on my blog posts but that didn’t happen as my parents came over to spend the day with us since we were gone for a week. Then the rest of the week was appointments, entertaining the kids, and trying to get back in routine which didn’t work out as easily as I thought it would, lol. I think I needed that week off to get things back on track here in our home and getting back into the groove of things.

By last week Thursday rountine and the wanting to get things done started kicking in and now I can say we have return to our normal days. I started by doing one chore a day so that I could work my way back to getting back into things easlier without feeling tired. Honestly this family time was so relaxing for hubby and I. We really need this break from everyday life.

This week, back to school prep continues. Back to early baths for Ava & Madison (3 1/2 years old & 4 1/2 yrs old) and earlier bedtimes for all. This week is also when all labeling of school items get done and our school homework bin gets organized, which I will show you in another blog post.

Lots of time as been spent with my Erin Condren life planner this week as I got things I would like to work on once kids have returned to School this month.

How do you handle getting back into routine after a relaxing vacation? Comment below and let me know.

I thought I would share some photos from our cottage vacation.

Our Cottage Vacation 2015

Leave a Reply

