My Kids & Chores

I thought I would share my kids chores with you since I have been posting about my new daily cleaning & fall/winter schedule.

Tyler (12yrs old)

  • Making of his bed (daily)
  • Vacuum  main floor (when asked)
  • Tidying up his room & his washroom (daily)
  • Taking his laundry to the laundry room(daily)
  • Clear & wipe kitchen table after dinner (daily)
  • Take trash out (daily)
  • Putting clean dishes away (daily)
  • Putting his laundry away
  • Clean his room (weekly)
  • Clean his washroom (weekly)
  • Cleaning dog area outside (weekly)

 

Kianna (9yrs old)

  • Making of her bed (daily)
  • Tidying up her room & her washroom (daily)
  • Taking her laundry to the laundry room(daily)
  • Putting her laundry away
  • Help tidy up of main floor (daily)
  • Clear & wipe down kitchen table after breakfast (daily)
  • Clean her room (weekly)
  • Take out Recycling (daily)
  • Help set table (when asked)

 

Ava (5yrs old)

  • Tidy up her room
  • Getting dressed
  • Clean up of toys
  • Putting her laundry in the laundry room
  • Help setting table for dinner
  • Helps to wipe down toys
  • Helps put laundry in the washer & dryer

 

Madison (almost 4yrs old)

  • Tidy up her room
  • Getting dressed
  • Clean up of toys
  • Putting her laundry in the laundry room
  • Help setting table for dinner
  • Helps to wipe down toys
  • Helps put laundry in the washer & dryer

I believe children of all ages should help around the house, it teaches them so much and also helps prepare them for years down the road. It also shows them that it is not all on you to clean up after them. They may not do it to your level, but remember they are kids and you have to let go of somethings . If you smash the help they will never want to help you again and will not enjoy their tasks. I had to realize when I started doing chores with my first child (Tyler) that it wasn’t at all how I would do it and remembered that it can always be done my way by me at another time. I would never go in afterwards from them and do it. For example, when Tyler (12yrs old) started cleaning his washroom, my OCD would kick in and it would drive me crazy, what I would do would just say “good job, next time do try to do this like that” and as time goes on and they get older they learn the right way. Til this day I do clean my son’s washroom once a week but on a different day that he does. At this age its not so much of it not being done right, but the fact that I like to use beach cleaning products that I don’t let him use for obvious reasons . Of course chores are given in age appropriate levels & not to overwhelm them. 

Do your kids have chores? Would you like to share? Have any tips or advice? Comment below. 

One thought on “My Kids & Chores

Leave a Reply

