DIY Office Decor Tray

Thought I would share a DIY I did for my office desk. This post is long over due.

It’s a simple one that did not take too much time. Below I share a picture of my Michael’s haul from last year. There you can see a wooden tray in plain wood colour. When I found it at Michael’s I knew it would be a perfect size for my desk. I also really like the little detail on the sides.

diymichaels.png

 

First, I painted the inside bottom & sides of the tray in a pink color, which is from Dollarama, but I already had it at home. It’s from the company Deco Art in what I believe is called PINK Fruitti in Acrylic Paint (I am sure on the Fruitti part of the name but not the Pink before it). I can not confirm the name as I let my girls use it to paint crafts and I no longer have the bottle and the picture I have I can not clearly see the name, so I apologize for that. I do have the number of the color if that would help maybe by doing a search, it’s DCA12. Once the the first coat of pink was dry, which took about half an hour,  I painted the outside part including the bottom in a Gold Metallic Paint which I bought from Michael’s . It’s from Craft Smart, Metallic Paint in the colour Gold/Oro. Then I let it dry for about half an hour as well and I painted the first coat lightly. Then went on to do the pink again. I did the Pink color about 3 times to get the perfect bright pink I was looking for. I let that dry for an hour and came back to it to do the Gold again. For the Gold I only had to do 2 coats. I left it over night to completely dry also to be safe as I painted the bottom of the tray and wanted to insure it was completely dry before placing it on my desk. I used a sponge like brush to paint the majority of the tray to really get the paint into the groves and so the wood would take the paint better. For the side design area of the tray I used a very fine brush to get into the space to insure it was all covered in the paint color.

DIYtray1

Honestly this was an easy project and what took the longest was just waiting for the paint to dry. The tray already came ready to paint so I did not have to sand it down. I also did not have to prime it in order to paint the colors I decided.

Here’s another look.

diytray4

 

This is how I use the tray on my desk.

diytray6.png

 

I had this votive candle holder which I wanted to use as a decor piece instead of what it is for. It looks so pretty and holds pens, pencils, scissors, & some cute paper clips/holders. The plate at the bottom is a glass round dish that matches the votive candle holder which holds supplies instead for me and my needs. It’s cute and keeps all the little supplies together and neat. I love how the tray turned out and not only is it pretty and adds a touch of color to my desk it also has a use, organized and keeps most used items at close reach.

Hope you enjoyed this post, if you would like to see the previous blog post check it out here.

Social Media Places you can find me:

Twitter
Tumblr
Instagram 
Pinterest
YouTube
Google+

Come check me out, you can also follow me on there.

Leave a Reply

