TIPS FOR DE-CLUTTERING

I thought I would share my tips with you for de-cluttering, I always ask myself questions when I am stuck on an item to let go of.

  1. When is the last time I wore it?
  2. Will I ever wear it again?
  3. How many do I have of this? (Same or similar)
  4. How often do we use it?
  5. Is there a use for it?
  6. Why am I keeping this?

Of course when not in doubt no need to ask myself these questions, I use it for when I am stuck on letting go or keeping something.

For example, I use to have everything from baby/toddler years for all 4 of my kids. Boxes and boxes full stored in the basement. I am a mom of 4, so let me tell you there where way too many boxes taking up space that really didn’t need to. Yes, I still have boxes (containers), but they are now down to one container per child. In each of those boxes are things I could really not let go of, memories, special moments, & outfits of special moments. I also kept one outfit that I knew would not go out of style that maybe one day they would like to take for their own baby. There is also their favorite baby stuffy, 1 only. Why I was keeping everything I have no idea, maybe I was not ready to let go of it. So, from over 20 boxes I am down to 4 clear containers with lids, 1 for each child. I feel good about it, lots of freed up space, most importantly I know everything in each bin is important and I always have easy access to them now.

I use these questions all the time for my clothing items, as for some reason I always hold on to items/pieces I think I will use again, when truth be told I don’t. These questions actually help me let go quicker now.
The other area of my home I need these questions for in order to get the ball rolling in purging is my kitchen & party supply space. I always think “Oh what if I need this when we have a get together or large number of people for a party” truth on that is yes there are some things required and actually used, but not everything. Honestly, I have changed to white dishes and severing pieces instead of what I use to have. White goes with every theme & color and never goes out of style. Prior to getting the white dishes I let go of the items I didn’t need/want and held onto the ones I use and wanted to replace with white ones. Once I found those pieces in white, I let go of the others right away.

What are some of your De-cluttering tips/questions? I would love to hear them so comment below.

Leave a Reply

