BALANCE & SELF CARE

chaos-391652_1280

Have you ever felt so overwhelmed that it feels like your going to crash?

 

I am going thru that feeling, I am still learning to balance life since returning to the working field, being a working mom of four, keeping up with the house, and a puppy.

I love my job, and I am not going to give it up, I just been finding that I am really juggling things and pushing things that I love to do aside for lots of reasons. When I finally get time to do my hobbies or go get that manicure I am too tired and take laying down option instead. I really need to change things up and go back to taking time to do me.

I use to have a routine where I would go for coffee every so often with friends and just relax, talk, enjoy laughs, etc… I would also take the time to go for a walk, get my car detailed, read a book, get a mani & pedi, and just give me sometime to re-charge. Now that sometime is going to bed early. I am a morning person so I go go go in the morning and during the day, come about 5pm and I am done. I use to be able just to relax for half hr and get back to it, but not lately. I am so overwhelmed at this moment that all I want to do is sleep, feels like I have no balance and always fitting things in here and there to get done instead of taking the time for it and even enjoying it. I do go thru this feeling time to time and do manage to get out of it, I thought I would share this with you all because I know life is hard and we as moms try to do everything. We take so much time for everyone else but ourselves. We all need to learn to take care of  “Us” and make that a priority. We need to do things we love and want too as well. Taking care of myself I use to feel guilty, ex. going for a coffee with my friends and leaving hubby to do the kids bedtime, going for a mani and pedi etc…. There is nothing to feel guilty about when taking the time to do something for yourself or take that break away. In fact, I believe it makes us better. I know that when I fit more breaks in I feel better, more refreshed, & able to handle more stressful times or even just those moments.
Now and days there is a lot of judgement on how a mom “should be or do”. It’s unfair& untrue, let me tell you that I use to need a break from my 2 younger kids when they were under 2 years old and I use to drive to Tim Horton’s, get a coffee and drive around with loud music and just unwind. Even something simple like that worked miracles with my mood and when I returned home I was so much refreshed. I use to get comments like; what do you mean you do that?, So you leave to give yourself “Me time”? with looks on their faces like I was the worst mom ever! But guess what I wasn’t and still am not! I am a better mom to my kids for fitting those times for myself and allowing myself to do something I love or enjoy and when I return I am refreshed and there ready as always.

Now tho, being a working mom of four & a puppy I am finding less time to take that time for me and more like I am just pushing thru. I feel like I am burning out and I really need to figure out balance. I just take too much on my plate, I like my kids taken care of, a clean house, etc…… I need to spread it out and learn that on the weekends if I don’t get it all done, it’s ok (I really need to accept that) I think once I do and once I start taking my time for me again I will come out of this funk.

I also believe this has come up at this time in my life as I was use to being a stay-at-home-mom and this is the first summer as me being a working mom. I was tracking things before school was out to insure that the kids had things to do and still having fun times while I am at work. Insuring that our deep freezer was packed with easy food in case times where the meal provided wasn’t everyone’s choice. Where last summer it was hard having all 4 kids at home all day, but it was easier to balance and plan things to do with the kids and still being able to handle the everyday house load, appointments, play dates and so fourth. Now our family outings can only be planned for the weekends and we still need to be on tight routines as we need to go to work in the morning during the week. Being a stay-at-home-mom of course is a lot of work as well, I am not down playing that, but for me I found that I was able to balance more things without feeling overwhelmed and still had time to fit in “Me time”.

Another role in this could be that at times my kids have said they want me to go back to being a stay-at-home-mom. Reality is tho aside from Summer break and the little PA Days, March break, & Christmas break all of my kids are in full day school. So, what would I do all day everyday alone at home? Ya it would be great at times, get get groceries, cleaning, etc… all done with no kids, but everyday? When my youngest was 1 years old I use to say “when all kids are in school, I am going to take a year or 2 off for me and do whatever I want” well before Madison (my youngest) was going to start school I was already thinking after I get all things that I have wanted to do off the list and all organized and relaxed what will I do after? Everyday? So, that’s when I was thinking of maybe going to school again and taking a course or something. Maybe working even part-time. I then got an offer to return to my job that I left 6-7 years ago and I could work around my kids school time and I jumped at it. I thought why not, let’s try and if it doesn’t work out then no harm, but if I didn’t take the jump I would of thought about that chance I didn’t take. I also get a great feeling of independence working and have a great boss.

As of today, I am going to work on this goal and with a new mind set to get balance and letting go of the not so important tasks. It will get done sometime, if not today another day and that’s okay.

 

Do you ever feel like this? What do you do to help with it? What are something you do for “Me time”? I would love to hear feedback from you so please comment below and share with me.

One thought on “BALANCE & SELF CARE

Leave a Reply

