Moving Series: Cleaning Current Home

This post is going to be a quick one.

I thought I would share my current cleaning routine of our house, I keep it real quick not really much detail cleaning as when we move and the house is empty I will be coming back to give it one last good clean for the new home owners. First I would say make lists of your must do’s, want needs to be done, and the final list of what’s left.

I continue to clean kitchen daily, bathrooms quick wipe downs during the week and a good clean one a week. Vacuuming still happens daily (apart of kids chores) and mopping as it needs. As I get a cupboard, drawer, or space empty I give it a good clean to spend less time once the final cleaning comes along. This helps to not be having to wipe cupboards, drawers, selves, etc… when you have other areas that will need your time the day you clean to prepare it for the new owners.

My time is focused on packing and getting things going and since I have a chance to return once the we move that helps a lot with less deep cleaning to happen now. I also take this time to wash blankets, rugs, decor pillows, etc…. to insure they have enough time to dry and can be packed clean and ready to be set in place at the new house. I also keep up with laundry with a load a day and as certain clothes won’t be needed to afterwards I pack them instead of returning it to the drawer or closet when they won’t be worn.

My routine would be different if we were moving the same day of closing the sold house and I wouldn’t be able to wait until the move to clean. I would need to plan a task of a good cleaning daily until closing, which I have done in the past.

 

Previous Post

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment